Monsoon session of Parliament ends,both houses adjourns sine die

Last Updated: Friday, August 10, 2018, 22:27
Monsoon session of Parliament ends,both houses adjourns sine die
The 18 day monsoon session came to a close on Friday. The session, which was largely productive, will be remembered for the passage of the 123rd constitution amendment, giving the OBC commission constitutional status. The session also saw the emergence of potential political realignment in the run up to the 2019 general elections. 15th session of the 16th Lok Sabha came to an end on Friday. The monsoon session began on July 18. Government accomplished most of its legislative business, however the anti- triple talaq bill could not be passed due to opposition disruptions.

During the 18 day session the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha met 17 times. The Lok Sabha`s Productivity was over 110 percent and that of the Rajya Sabha was more than 74 percent. The Lok Sabha lost about eight and a half hours due to disruptions, whereas Rajya Sabha lost about 27 hours. The Lok Sabha worked 21 additional hours to make up for lost time and Rajya Sabha made up about 3 hours of lost time, by working extra time. Government also thanked the opposition for the relatively smooth session.

This session will be remembered for its social justice priorities. Palriament granted constitutional status to the OBC Commission and also approved amendments that restored important provisons in the SCST prevention of atrocities Act. 22 bills were introduced in lok sabha while 21 were approved by the lower house. In the upper house 14 bills were passed.

However, the triple talaq bill could not be taken up for passage in Rajya Sabha. Government lashed out at the principal opposition party for stalling the passage of triple talaq bill. Monsoon session was not only a productive one for the government with regards to the bills passed and business transacted, it was also a morale booster for NDA as new political alignments churned out during the sittings. The government was able to decisively defeat the no confidence motion brought by the opposition. The centre got support from many non NDA parties during the course. In the upper house, NDA managed a handsome victory for its candidate to the post of deputy chairman of the house. Harivansh Narayan Singh`s victory exposed fissures in the opposition ranks. Four nominated members Sonal Mansingh, Rakesh Sinha, Ram Sakal and Raghunath Mohapatra also took oath during the session.
comments powered by Disqus