Congress leader Ahmed Patel retains Rajya Sabha seat; Amit Shah, Smriti Irani also win

Last Updated: Tuesday, August 8, 2017, 23:57
Congress leader Ahmed Patel retains Rajya Sabha seat; Amit Shah, Smriti Irani also win
After a dramatic series of events that lasted till the wee hours of Wednesday, senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel was re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Gujarat along with BJP president Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani.

Congress veteran Ahmed Patel held on dearly to his Rajya Sabha seat retaining his place in the upper house with the support of 44 MLAs in Gujarat. Shah and Irani received 46 votes each. Congress turncoat Balwantsinh Rajput registered only 38 votes.

Counting for the Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections had to be stopped on Tuesday evening with the Congress demanding cancellation of votes of two of its legislators who cross-voted and displayed their ballot paper to the BJP`s polling agent.

Two rebel Congress MLAs, Raghavji Patel and Bholabhai Gohil, displayed their ballot paper before the BJP agent as well as the Congress counterpart, which was challenged by senior Congress leaders.

Later, Shaktisinh Gohil and Arjun Modhwadia of the Congress and state BJP president Jitu Vaghani viewed the videography of the polling. A report was sent to the Election Commission in Delhi on the incident.

The Commission after holding closed door meetings for hours finally accepted the plea of the Congress and rejected the votes of the two MLAs.

Voting ended in Gujarat state assembly on Tuesday afternoon for the Rajya Sabha elections in which Ahmed Patel, the influential political secretary to Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, and BJP`s Amit Shah, Smriti Irani and Balwantsinh Rajput are in the fray.

The elections have turned into a high-stake battle for the Congress in the backdrop of turbulence in the party following the surprise exit of Vaghela and the resignation of six of its MLAs recently.
comments powered by Disqus